Raspberry Pi mini breakout board for industrial switching power supply

First day of my raspberry pi “ngoprek” (tinkering) day was power lesson, I would not say it problem because raspberry pi is a learning platform. I don’t now if every beginner in raspberry pi found the same problem but I found one in techcrunch blog. I’ve got the same problem as Jon orlin found.

I find the quick start guide on raspberry pi says to find a micro usb power supply-make sure you use a good quality one. Capable of providing at least 700 mA at 5V. well no one review wall power adapter, but I decide to find one on my local market, sorry I’m not the one who like shopping online. Cause I have “more is better” in my mind so I pick the most juicer current one “2.1 A” and yes it cost more. And when I try it on my raspberry pi it gave many problem that has been said on this wiki, so I decide to take my multimeter and the expensive local market power adapter just give me “4.65” V. “bloody” it’s not give me between 4.75 and 5.25 volts that raspberry pi need. Argh..

I think I should make something with this. Cause I ve’got a industrial switchingpower supply  5 V at 5 A  from my past project and it cost almost the same with 2.1 local market power adapter but without USB interface that raspberry pi needed.  So I need to make a mini breakout form barrel jack DC to USB so I can use ordinary micro usb cable.

Just running my eagle editor first, then I make this one converter, from barrel jack to USB. A simple mini breakout

schematic :

board:

It maybe overrated use industrial power supply http://www.meanwell.com/search/rs-25/default.htm but it cost around $20, $8 more cost than 2.1 A fake power adapter at $12 and it give you more power juice at 5A and it small also if you don’t mind with the metal case 🙂 . I even make a mini breakout you can just use simple breadboard here. but after this  I don’t even worry about plug any devices on my raspberry pi.

I admit my solution is quite messy and overrated.

it gives me much lesson even from day one, thanks raspberry pi.

Leave a Reply

